Last week was crazy busy. I moved house. I did a presentation in class. I organised a bake sale. I helped cook a veggo meal. And it looks set to continue – I’m off to a gig this afternoon, I have my first essay to hand in, I have several birthdays and nights out. All of these things are good things, don’t get me wrong, but I feel like I’ve been on high in the tumble dryer for quite some while.

So it was wonderful to go out yesterday to Toolangi Rainforest in Victoria. It is an incredibly beautiful place and it was wonderful to get out of the city. The air was so fresh and clean. I. Could. Just. Breathe. While not exactly what I expected – it is a cold climate rainforest after all – it was much more lush than any forest I’ve been to before. If you are in the Melbourne region I would definitely recommend driving out for a trip.

Unfortunately Toolangi did have its dark side. There have been unsustainable logging practices carried out, particularly since the Black Friday fires, which are threatening the habitiat of the endangered Leadbeater’s Possum. These creatures need the old trees (around 150 years) with hollows to provide habitat for them. Unfortunately, despite the destruction of so many trees in the fires, the logging companies want the same amount of output, meaning that they are using much less sustainable practices. The carers of the rain forest are campaigning to have the area recognised and protected as a national park. If you would like to find out more or support the establishment of Great Forest National Park please follow THIS link.

Ta-Ra,

Hannah

Leave a Reply

